The Neal and Hyde Building, a striking example of the Richardson Romanesque style, was designed by architect Asa L. Merrich and built in 1883. It served as a dry goods warehouse and store for wholesalers William Neal and Salem Hyde until the mid 1900s. The keystone in the central arch bears Salem Hyde’s initials. Original gabled towers were removed from the roof line in the 1950s. This impressive structure was renovated in 1999 and today houses offices and a restaurant.
The Neil & Baum Company began in 1869 as wholesale distributors, selling dry goods, notions, hosiery, men’s furnishings and other departments of the wholesale concern. In 1878, the firm of Neil & Baum merged into a co-partnership with Roger S. Sperry and Salem Hyde, and the name became Sperry, Neal & Hyde. In 1883, the business moved into this new Sperry-owned building. The business name became Neal & Hyde when Sperry died in 1890. At that time W.H. H. Neal and Salem Hyde acquired the Sperry interest in the business, but the Sperry family retained ownership of the building.
Sperry, Neal, and Hyde letterhead
Mr. Neal retired in 1917, and five years later Mr. Hyde was succeeded as president by his son, Charles S. Hyde. Neal & Hyde, Inc. eventually purchased this building after leasing it for many years from the owner Miss Celia E. Sperry. It served as a dry goods warehouse and store until the mid-1900s, when the gabled towers were removed from the roofline.
Salem Hyde’s initials reside in a keystone in the central arch. Mr. Hyde held various offices throughout Syracuse including those at the Syracuse Public Library, Onondaga County Savings Bank, May Memorial Church, Museum of Fine Arts, Onondaga Historical Association, Oakwood Cemetery, and Republican Club. He was also the first Commissioner of Jurors for Onondaga County, trustee of the State Normal School at Cortland, and a member of the Chamber of Commerce, Citizens’ Club, University Club, Syracuse Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution, the Rotary Club in Syracuse and the Lotos Club in New York City.