The SA&K Building, originally known as the Granger Block, is a unique triangular structure that completely fills the block on which it stands. First built in 1842, the building burned in 1849, was rebuilt, and burned a second time. The present building was completed in 1867 with four floors. Three more floors were added in 1894. In 1898 the law firm of Sedgwick, Andrews and Kennedy purchased the building, and it became known as the SA&K Building. Presently, the building is referred to as City Hall Commons and has an attached glass atrium.
The SA&K building and the earlier Granger Block was also the site of St. Paul’s, the First Episcopalian church in Syracuse, built in 1827. In 1841, the church building was sold to the local Roman Catholic congregation.
St. Paul’s First Episcopalian Church in 1827
As was common in the 19th century, the church building was lifted off its foundation and moved several blocks away to the northwest corner of Montgomery and Madison Streets; there it became known as St. Mary’s, the precursor to the present-day Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception. In 1939 a plaque was installed on the Warren Street side of the SA&K Building to commemorate the former site of St. Paul’s, though it no longer remains.
An article about the plaque on the SA&K Building