The White Memorial Building was built in 1876 and designed by Joseph Lyman Silsbee. This High Victorian Gothic style building was constructed by the sons of Hamilton and Horace White. Particularly noteworthy for its elaborately sculpted entry, complete with gargoyles; the iron cresting atop its slate roof; the pointed arches over the third story windows; and the decorative bands of black and sand colored brick contrasting with the dark red brick background. For almost a century, H.J. Howe Jewelers occupied the front corner of the building. The White Memorial Building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Joseph Lyman Silsbee
This was the second important building that Joseph Lyman Silsbee designed in downtown Syracuse. The building was named after the brothers Horace, Hamilton and Andrew D. White, who were involved in the banking business that was housed in the previous building located on this site. Their bank, Syracuse National Bank, and their offices, occupied the second story of the new building.
There were offices on the third and fourth floors, and the fifth floor underneath the mansard roof was to be used as a Masonic hall. It was one of the earlier buildings to have a passenger elevator, which made the upper stories as rentable as the lower ones. Stores occupied the first level along Salina and Washington Streets. After having been renovated and cleaned, the building is again beautiful with colors and details that had been hidden for decades by historic railroad soot. On Washington Street, a steeply pitched gabled entrance, rich with Gothic Revival ornament and guarded by gargoyles, leads into a small, beautifully restored lobby.