The Donohue Building was constructed around 1885 by Syracuse physician Florince Q. Donohue to serve as an office and residence. The grouping of windows and the variety of textures makes this building a good example of ornate Queen Ann style. Noteworthy is the ornate gable with two circular windows.
This building was designed by Charles Erastus Colton, who also designed the current Syracuse City Hall, as well as many other buildings. The façade is highly detailed and one of the most important and significant buildings in this district. The masonry, scale and materials reflect the character. The style and detailing are unique to the district and to the city. It still has the original stained glass building sign.
Dr. Florince Q. Donohue was among the prominent and successful physicians and surgeons of Syracuse. He was an expert on tuberculosis. He was appointed to the local Board of Health by Mayor Kirk and to the State Board by Governor Hill. He married Lucy A. Mosley of Onondaga Hill in 1877 and had no children. In 1885 he built the Donohue Building, which he owned until the early 1900’s. It later housed an army-navy store and then a bakery and apartments. Recently, it’s been renovated for offices and retail.