The Jefferson Clinton Hotel was built in 1927 and designed by Syracuse architect Gustavus Young. It was one of approximately 20 hotels in the Armory Square area that serviced the railroads. With 11 floors, it was the tallest structure of its time. When standing on the western corner, the building’s unusual shape presents the illusion of a façade with nothing behind it. Now the hotel features 60 well-appointed luxury suites.
Opened in 1927 as the Hotel Jefferson Clinton, this hotel has undergone a few name changes over its lifetime. The hotel fell into tough times during the Great Depression and had a series of failed ownerships over several decades.
A photo taken when the hotel was known as the Dome Hotel
It had fallen into disrepair and was operating as the Dome Hotel (Syracuse University’s Carrier Dome is visible from its top floors) when the hotel closed in 1987. It reopened in June 2001 after a complete renovation as the Hawthorn Suites, in affiliation with the Hyatt-owned Hawthorn Suites chain.
New owners decided to go independent of the Hyatt and renamed the hotel to the Jefferson Clinton Hotel, taking its new name from its old name.
This hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places, being recognized locally for its historic significance. Even though it has been remodeled, this hotel retains many of its original elements, including its restored lobby ceiling and marble.