The Amos Block is a Romanesque Revival building developed in 1878 by Jacob Amos, who served as mayor of Syracuse from 1892-1896. Originally, the Erie Canal ran directly behind the Amos Block and goods were loaded and unloaded from the building’s upper levels onto canal boats.  The Water Street façade is different, as this side of the building housed retail stores.  The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.  In 2006, the Amos Block was renovated and now serves as a multipurpose structure, with residential apartments on the upper floors.

Jacob Amos, Syracuse mayor and businessman


Read More

Jacob Amos, a mayor of Syracuse, built the Amos Block for this wholesale grocery business in 1878.  It was built on the remnants of the Empire State Mills building. The structure at one time was part of a row of buildings next to the Erie Canal (now Erie Boulevard). The upper levels were for storage, the street floor for the wholesale grocery.  It was designed by noted architect Joseph Lyman Silsbee, who created the Romanesque façade we see on the Water Street side of the building. 

Joseph Lyman Silsbee, architect

An Example of the Amos Building’s Romanesque façade on Water Street

An Example of the Amos Building’s Romanesque façade on Water Street

Amos was the second home of the Syracuse Herald newspaper in the 1800s.  It also housed the local headquarters of the Waldorf Commissary, which supplied a chain of restaurants established under the Waldorf name. 

The Waldorf sign remains on the Erie Boulevard façade.  After a long discussion about renovation, The Amos Block was remodeled in 2006 and serves as a multiple purpose structure with residential apartments on the upper floors and commercial units on the first floor.