The Hotel Syracuse, designed by George B. Post and Sons, was built in 1924 at a cost of more than $6,000,000. This beautiful building of 600 rooms had everything that the nation’s leading hotel architects of the period could include. To quote the brochure published at that time, “Spacious, beautiful, dignified, the public rooms of Hotel Syracuse provide genuine comfort and pleasure for the guests of this great new hotel. The lobby lounge is not a mere passageway...but rather is a large parlor where groups may gather...or where the weary traveler may luxuriate in the comfort of deep seated lounging chairs...” In the fall of 1982, the tower addition was completed, and linked to the Hotel by an enclosed esplanade built over East Onondaga Street.
The Hotel Syracuse behind the Fourth Presbyterian Church
The Truax Hotel was rolled across Harrison Street in 1922 to make room for the present day Hotel Syracuse. All hotel services including hot and cold running water, telephone, lights and room service continued to be offered during the move! The 12,400,000 - pound building was not only transported across the street, but was completely turned around.
The moving of the Traux Hotel
A postcard from the Traux Hotel
The building was moved using steel rollers after being lifted four feet up in the air. The old brick foundation was dismantled and rebuilt at the new address at the corner of Harrison and S. Warren Streets and the bricklayers rejoined the two sections once the building was lowered. The work began April 18, 1922 and the move was completed the week of July 20, 1922. It took eight days alone to lower the building. Unfortunately despite being saved once, the Truax met the wrecking ball in the 1960s and the spot is now occupied by a parking lot.
The Hotel Syracuse under construction behind the 4th Presbyterian Church
The Fourth Presbyterian Church continued to share the block with the Hotel Syracuse, but was razed in 1943. The hotel eventually expanded to fill that vacant space in 1953.
A newspaper clipping about the Fourth Presbyterian Church coming down