The Clinton Exchange was built in 1928 as a U.S. Post Office and Federal building. It is a prime example of the refined Neo-Classical architecture often used in the design of public buildings between1900-1940. It was originally designed to border the Erie Canal on its south side. Before construction was completed, however, the canal had been filled in and replaced by a boulevard. The only design change allowed was an entrance on Erie Boulevard. In 1985, the 170,000-square-foot building was converted to office space. With a focus on restoration rather than renovation, care was taken to preserve plaster ceilings, marble floors, staircases and columns.Read More
Before 1832, Syracuse was a small crossroads better known as Bogardus Corners. It is only due to the imagination of one of its earliest well known inhabitants, John Wilkinson, that it did not keep that name.
While visiting a friend in New York City, Wilkinson was browsing in the library of his host when he came across an English poem that had won the chancellor’s prize at the University of Oxford in England. The poem described a beautiful nymph seen bathing by a local hunter who immediately fell in love with her. He pursued her to the island of Ortygia at Syracuse in Sicily, where the goddess Diana changed her into a fountain to protect her. Mr. Wilkinson found a remarkable likeness between his city and the fountain and city described in the poem. They were relatively the same size and their bodies of water were each bordered by salt springs. Coincidently, both towns had a northern border town called Salina and the island of Ortygia was first conquered by a General Marcellus.
Upon his return home, Wilkinson got a committee together and proposed the new name. It was then voted on and accepted.